California uses a number of legal codes to define the rules of the road that all drivers must obey. Drivers in Pico Rivera are not permitted to exceed the speed limit, drive recklessly, or to drive while under the influence (DUI). DUI charges in California can be especially severe, with convictions leading to:
- Jail Time
- High Fines
- License Suspensions
You can get ready to handle this serious legal charge by contacting the Simmrin Law Group now. Our DUI lawyers in Pico Rivera know what it takes to defend clients in your situation. Let us start working on your defense today.
DUIs in Pico Rivera: Blood Alcohol Content
Drivers in Pico Rivera may be charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeds the legal limits set by the state. Generally, you must keep your BAC below:
- 0.08% If You Are a Non-Commercial Driver Over 21
- 0.04% If You Are a Commercial Driver Over 21
- 0.01% If You Are a Driver Under 21
Police officers can measure your BAC with a number of chemical tests, including the breathalyzer. While these tests are not always accurate, their results are often enough to lead to a DUI arrest. You may also be accused of a DUI if you fail a field sobriety test.
DUIs in Pico Rivera: Handling a DUI Stop
Some drivers wonder if they can refuse a chemical test or field sobriety test. You may be able to refuse these tests in some situations, but you must always complete them if:
- You Are Under 21
- You Are on DUI Probation
- You Are Legally Arrested
Failure to comply with a legally required test is punishable with criminal charges in California. Regardless of the results of your chemical test or field sobriety test, it is important that you contact a criminal defense lawyer in Pico Rivera immediately if you are charged with a DUI.
A professional DUI lawyer can offer you protection and legal advice quickly after a DUI.
DUIs in Pico Rivera: Results of a Conviction
We mentioned previously that DUI convictions can lead to harsh penalties. In fact, a conviction for a basic, first-time DUI charge can lead to:
- Fines of Up to $2,000
- Jail Time of Up to Six Months
- License Suspension of Up to One Year
DUIs are somewhat unique charges in Pico Rivera because the penalties can grow more severe for subsequent DUI charges. This means, for example, that you can face the following penalties if you are convicted of a second DUI:
- Fines of Up to $2,500
- Jail Time of Up to One Year
- License Suspension of Up to Two Years
These penalties only represent the results of a basic DUI conviction. You may face additional penalties if someone was injured or even killed due to a DUI accident.
DUIs in Pico Rivera: Dealing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
DUI charges in California are further complicated by the fact that you must request a hearing with the DMV after any DUI arrest. You have only 10 days to request this hearing. If you fail to set up the hearing your license can be automatically suspended.
A DUI lawyer in Pico Rivera can help you handle your DMV hearing to protect your ability to legally drive. Let the Simmrin Law Group take care of all of your legal needs after you face a DUI charge in Pico Rivera.
DUIs in Pico Rivera: Handling Your Legal Defense
Successfully resolving a DUI charge in California can take expert legal knowledge and experience. The Simmrin Law Group may be able to provide you with the legal services you need by:
Working to Secure a Plea Bargain
Some DUI charges can be resolved with a plea bargain. Your DUI lawyer can go over any deal you are offered to make sure it is fair for you. Be aware that you will need to plead guilty to accept a plea bargain, but these deals may result in lessened charges that will work in your best interests.
Fighting for You in Court
In some cases, your best bet will be taking your case to court. A professional criminal defense lawyer can stand up for you in front of a judge and jury to argue your case. Increase the odds that you will beat the charges you are facing by contacting a DUI lawyer today.
A Pico Rivera DUI Lawyer Can Work for You
Drivers who work with a DUI lawyer in Pico Rivera can improve their chances of beating DUI charges. Let the professionals at the Simmrin Law Group start focusing on your defense today. You can reach us by completing our online contact form, or calling (310) 997-4688.
Take charge of your life after you are charged with a DUI by taking advantage of our FREE consultation.